Oklahoma Owner Operator Jobs
Whether you're currently a truck driver or just starting to explore your options, you may consider becoming an owner-operator. Oklahoma has a growing need for truck drivers, and as an owner-operator, you may be able to meet the diverse needs of shipping and retail companies throughout the state. Going the owner-operator route does require a bit more work than becoming a company driver, so it's important to become familiar with the laws and requirements in Oklahoma.
Though looking at truck driving salaries in Oklahoma can give you a good idea of what other drivers earn, your salary may differ greatly as an owner-operator. Your income will be influenced directly by how hard you work, how quickly you build your business, and which part of Oklahoma you serve. In 2013, light and delivery truck drivers earned an average salary of $26,200 per year (O*Net, 2013). O*Net notes that tractor-trailer drivers earn an average of $36,500 per year in Oklahoma.
The job outlook in Oklahoma is positive, with expected growth rates that are slightly higher than the national average. For light truck drivers, O*Net anticipates a 5% increase in jobs from 2012 to 2022. In this same time period, O*Net predicts a 12% increase in job openings for tractor-trailer drivers.
There are two parts to becoming an owner-operator in Oklahoma: getting your commercial driver's license and getting your business license. If you do not yet have a commercial driver's license or you would like to upgrade your license to a higher level, you should look into trucking schools in Oklahoma. These schools can give you experience with a range of endorsements, help you develop your truck driving skills, and prepare you for various aspects of working in the trucking industry.
Then, you can go to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety to apply for your license. You must pass a written exam, a skills exam, and additional exams for any endorsements you want to add to your license. You'll then receive your driver's license.
The Oklahoma Department of Commerce is responsible for business licensure in this state. You may have to obtain business insurance, set up a business plan, and submit the appropriate paperwork to become an owner-operator. Once you have met the business requirements met, you can start your owner-operator business.